• An illustration by Josh Knowles for The Barking Stink project @ Totally Thames
    The Barking Stink illustration by Josh Knowles
  • Children testing smells from The Barking Stink project
    Children checking out The Barking Stink smells

Are you interested in working with children and young people in creative ways? Would you like to assist primary school groups in engaging with local history and help bring heritage to life for them? If you are keen to gain experience in museums education or creative workshop facilitation, The Barking Stink is an innovative heritage project offering opportunities to get involved this September and October.

Part of Totally Thames, The Barking Stink is a scented heritage project telling stories of Barking’s riverside via the sense of smell. The project, supported by the National Lottery Heritage Fund, will engage local primary school children and their teachers in special facilitated visits to Valence House Museum in Dagenham this autumn. Children will be supported to experience special scents to smell, tour the outdoor exhibition, take part in lively talks and watch animated films during their visit. We are looking for 10 volunteers to assist with school visits, becoming part of The Barking Stink team. You’ll be helping to facilitate the smells part of the visit, allowing children to become ‘smell detectives’ as they explore the museum and exhibition!

There will be opportunities to get involved in other workshops, oral history recordings and talks for those interested in extending their experience to other The Barking Stink project elements too. Full training and support will be given. Previous experience is not required, but an outgoing and approachable character, plus the desire to work with children and young people and interest in heritage/museums/arts is a bonus. Please note that some of the role will be working outdoors, at the exhibition within the museum grounds.

Expenses to cover travel and lunch will be paid, £12 per day. Location: Valence House Museum, Becontree Avenue, Dagenham, Volunteer Session timings: 10am- 2pm, various weekdays Volunteer Training: Tues 3 Sept, 10am-2pm

Volunteer Session Date Options across Sept and October (Volunteers will be expected to commit to at least 2 dates each): Mon 9 Sept, Tues 10 Sept, Weds 11 Sept, Thurs 12 Sept, Mon 16 Sept, Thurs 19 Sept, Mon 23 Sept, Mon 30 Sept, Fri 4 October, Mon 7 Oct, Tues 8 Oct, Weds 9 Oct, Thurs 10 Oct, Fri 11 Oct, Mon 14 Oct, Tues 15 Oct, Weds 16 Oct, Thurs 17 Oct, Fri 18 Oct

Deadline for applications 30 August 2019, 5pm.

For more information or questions, contact n.shaill@thamesfestival.org 02079288998